Recipe Time! Vegetable Soup

Leave a comment

Vegetable soup has never been a favorite of mine. I liked when my mom would cook it, but I wouldn’t normally think about it as one of my go-to staple recipes for weeknight dinners. Also, Jason doesn’t love soup, so I usually stay away from … well, soup. But I saw this recipe for a healthy vegetable soup and thought why not? I was home by myself for a lot this past weekend so knew that I would like it, Audrey might try it and Jason could choke it down (which he did, and actually liked it!). I liked how the recipe offered different “versions,” such as a Mexican version with Rotel, an Italian version with beans or just regular. I served this with some Naan bread, but would also be delish with grilled cheese. Enjoy!

vegetable soup

Vegetable Soup
Adapted from: Danica’s Daily

  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 15 oz. can Great Northern beans
  • 1/2 can of tomato paste
  • 32 oz. chicken stock (I added water to make a bigger pot)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • pinch of crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 2 cups kale, roughly chopped
  • 1 oz. macaroni pasta
  • sea salt and black pepper to taste

1. In a large soup pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the onion, carrot and garlic, cooking until softened, about 5 minutes.

2.  Add the beans, tomato paste, broth, Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper flakes.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer until the vegetables soften, about 8-10 minutes.

3.  Add the peppers, kale, pasta and continue cooking for 8 minutes. Remove the bay leaf.

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

Leave a Reply

