Recipe Time! Watermelon Salad

3 Comments

I love watermelon. I like anything flavored watermelon, the colors of watermelon and the feelings watermelon can inspire (summer, swimming, the beach, etc.). I’m even growing a watermelon in my stomach, just kidding … it’s really a baby 🙂

So when I was tasked with helping to cook dinner one night of our family beach vacation, watermelon seemed like the perfect, light addition to the fajita-based menu. I heard about using watermelon in salads, but I usually strayed away from the idea because I normally don’t like fruit in my savory foods, but I figured I would at least try it.

And this recipe was a hit! I adapted it a bit from this recipe here: Balsamic Watermelon Salad, but you can Google or search on Pinterest and get 1000 different recipes. I’ve seen recipes with tomatoes, cucumbers, nuts, etc. But here’s what I did.

watermelon salad

 

1 seedless watermelon (adjust based on number of people)
1 red onion, very thinly sliced
1 package of crumbled Feta cheese
Salt/pepper to taste (you might need a lot of salt)
Balsamic vinegar (I just drizzled all over the top until it looked like enough)
Mint leaves (I didn’t use, but it sounds like a nice addition)

Chop the watermelon into bite size pieces. Put in large bowl with onion and feta, season with salt and pepper and drizzle (or douse) with balsamic vinegar. Gently mix. And that’s it! I put it in the fridge for about an hour before serving so the watermelon was nice and cold. Delish!

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

3 thoughts on “Recipe Time! Watermelon Salad

  1. Bleck. I do not love watermelon. But, I love you! and the watermelon in your belly 🙂 This salad even looks good!

  2. Love it! I’ve been making a variation of this a lot this summer. I do put fresh basil in mine and, sometimes, a bit of raw zucchini.

Leave a Reply

