Baby/Life Update

3 Comments

So here we are. 18 weeks into our pregnancy and I sometimes still can’t wrap my brain or heart around what’s going on. And I am actually cutting myself some slack about it all because we’ve had just a few things happening.

18 weeks

– found out we were pregnant
– bought a house
– Jason moved jobs (in same company)
– traveled to Tampa
– defended my thesis
– moved and unpacked (somewhat)

And in the blank spaces between all the big stuff, we’ve experienced every emotion possible, joy, fear, apprehension, love, excitement, panic, backaches, heartburn, etc. etc. So if I’m not completely 100% put together and calm, I at least have some sort of excuse.

kitchen before

grilling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BUT, I am very proud of myself. It’s not the usual spinning top, crazy freakout, paralyzing anxiety that I normally feel during big changes. Jason’s even commented on how “well-behaved” I’ve been pregnant (I think that’s a compliment…). And I can only chalk this up to God’s peace in our lives, and the fact that we know we are in the exact place we should be, physically, mentally, emotionally, family-wise and “big changes-wise.” We prayed for years for these moves, and now that they are happening, it doesn’t feel scary. Maybe just a little tiring…

exhuastion

In the next month, we will find out if we’re having a boy or a girl (on our 3-year wedding anniversary), I will graduate and we get to visit with my sister and brother-in-law who are visiting amidst their own cross-country move! So the big moments aren’t slowing down, but only getting more and more exciting.

I’m feeling great. The baby is now the size of a large mango and I have felt (what I think) is the little gummy bear rolling around (feels like my stomach is grumbling), but no little baby kicks yet. Morning sickness is gone (hallelujah). And now we turn our focus to potential daycares, picking names and setting up the nursery.

People may think we are a little crazy packing all of these big things into just a few months, but I just say that’s how we are — a little crazy, but a lot blessed!

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

3 thoughts on “Baby/Life Update

  1. Hey Steph – cant wait to see the new house and see your cute pregnant self! I’m so happy for you. Love ya, Mel (aka best office roommate ever)

  2. I shared with Doug how proud Jason was of your good behavior thus far. He had a good chuckle and said just wait till the child is born and you’re not getting any sleep. Then, let him compliment you! 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

