Recipe Time! Gazpacho

2 Comments

Are you ever in the mood for a light lunch, something like a salad, but don’t have lettuce, don’t feel like making a salad, or just want something different? I have the solution for you!

Gazpacho!

gazpachoI don’t remember the first time I had this dish, but remember my Mom making it when I was in high school. It’s basically a liquid salad (I know it sounds gross, but trust me, it’s not). It’s a salty, tangy mixture of tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, and really anything that would go in a salad. I usually make a big batch and eat on it during the entire week. One of my favorite meals I ate on my honeymoon was Gazpacho, it was at every restaurant and I probably ordered it every time!

This recipe is very basic, but check out Ina Garten’s and The Pioneer Woman’s recipes for a little bit more dressed up version.

P.S. This ia a perfect Summer/Spring picnic item 🙂

Gazpacho

2 large tomatoes, quartered
1 cucumber, sliced
1/2 to 1 onion (depending on how big), cubed
1 28 oz. can whole, peeled tomatoes
Couple glugs of olive oil
Couple splashes of red wine vinegar
1 tblsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper

Add all ingredients to a blender or food processor and liquefy! Some people do each vegetable separately and then mix together with a spoon. And some like it more liquid, but I tend to keep it a little on the liquid-salsa consistency side. Chill in fridge for about 20 minutes and then serve.

Add any toppings you like: avocado, cheese, croutons, grilled shrimp, etc.

 

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

2 thoughts on “Recipe Time! Gazpacho

  1. Pingback: Weekend In Review | tuliptea

Leave a Reply

