Recipe Time! Chicken Chili

Leave a comment

It’s November! Which means cold-ish weather here in Louisiana and a few days where we can break out the scarves, boots and coats and actually enjoy sitting outside.

In my ongoing quest to sneakily get Jason to eat more soups, I made a great chicken chili recipe over the weekend that was really delicious. I love making chili of any kind, and have tried ground beef, turkey and even deer meat. But because my cupboard was bare and we had no ground beef, turkey or deer meat to speak of, I improvised with chicken!

I know chicken chili isn’t a new thing, but it’s a great alternative if you’re not feeling the other meats. Again, it was kind of a witches brew recipe, so my measurements may not be perfect, but you get the idea 🙂

Roussell Chicken Chili
Better known as: I wanted to use my Dutch Oven, and we were sick of ordering pizza recipe.

sadie

Sadie thinking about my chicken chili and wishing she could have some.

Ingredients

– Cooked chicken (as much shredded chicken as you want. I had a whole chicken shredded leftover from making broth, so I used about half)
– 1 can of black beans drained
– 1 can of Rotel tomatoes drained
– 1 can of Navy beans drained (or whatever other beans you have)
– 1 onion chopped
– 1 and 1/2 cups of water (you can add more if it’s not soupy enough for you)
– Salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder.

Saute the onions in olive oil in a dutch oven or large pot. Throw in beans, Rotel, and chicken, pour in water and stir. Add spices (I used about a table spoon of salt, cumin and chili powder, and a half tablespoon of pepper…you can adjust later). Cover with lid and let simmer for at least 30 minutes, checking every now and then to make sure it’s not burning or getting too dry.

Serve with cheese, sour cream and cubed avocado (my way), plain with cheese (Jason’s way) or with Fritos chips (my preferred way if Fritos chips had magically appeared in my pantry).

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

Leave a Reply

