First Day of School

3 Comments

Do you remember all of your first days of school? Maybe just a few?

back to school

Well today was a first day of school for me, and it made me remember all the other first days of school I had. Today was my first day of a new semester (2nd to last) of my Master’s program. I’m no longer a nervous teenager waiting for the bus, I’m an adult woman with a plan and a purpose. I make my own breakfast, and plan my own schedule and make my own way.

But I couldn’t help but remember how I felt on other first days of school, when I wasn’t so large and in charge.

Days like my first day of Kindergarten where I distinctly remember being petrified I would never make any friends. Ever. In my lifetime. Teensy bit dramatic, eh?

Or days like my first day of freshman year of high school, where I couldn’t breathe I was so excited to finally be there. And then I promptly tripped in the hall, and my dream of high school stardom was instantly smashed.

Or my first day of senior year of high school, when I chugged a half a bottle of Mylanta because my nerves were so frayed, and I had no idea how I was going to make it through that year.

Then there was my first day of college, already at LSU for a while because of sorority rush, I met one of my very best friends in Biology class, where also the instant my professor said “be sure your cell phones are turned off or I will kick you out of class,” my cell phone rang and I pretty much burst into spontaneous and terrified tears.

And then today. Today wasn’t anything special. I wasn’t nervous, I wasn’t scared. My cell phone was correctly on silent. I ate a delicious breakfast of oatmeal and strawberries. I was ready to take on the day, the semester, the year and make it count. I finally felt as though I had passed through the halls of undergrad envy, and I am happy/proud/determined about being a master’s candidate, and nearly through with this experience. I even muttered like an old woman walking across the crosswalk for these youngsters to hurry it up.

There won’t be many first days of school left for me, but I’m glad for the experiences I’ve had, and the happy/scared/good/bad stories are ready and waiting for my kids when they take on their first days of school and the big world ahead of them.

Happy Back to School everyone!

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

3 thoughts on “First Day of School

  1. Stephanie, your post made me smile! When people used to ask “What is your favorite day of the year?” I would instantly reply “The first day of school!” Not Christmas, or my birthday, or even the first day of vacation! I just love the new promises and new possibilities. And even though your first days of school are limited, it is no less exciting when you are getting your little ones off for their first days! Have a great first day! 🙂

  2. Hee hee. I love my Mylanta-chugging, old lady muttering seestor 🙂 It was good to talk to you today! Happy (almost last!) first day of school!

  3. Keep muttering at those youngsters…but make sure to offer a helping hand for the deer-in-headlight looks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

