A Little To The Middle

1 Comment

I’m weird. I picked Marketing as my major at Spring Testing (as a senior in high school) almost a decade ago, and never looked back. I always somehow knew that I loved the mixture of business and creativity. In high school, I loved math and numbers, and spreadsheets, and symmetry (I get that from my Dad). But then I also loved nurturing, and interpersonal relationships and creativity (I get that from my Mom).

So when looking at the big expanse of major choices, Marketing seemed right. And it has been right. I loved my undergraduate career, loved my first few jobs where I got to be in the field of Marketing and work in it. And I’m loving now, where I’m studying a different side of Marketing, through Strategic Communication. I know I’m in the right profession.

So, have you ever heard of left brain vs. right brain?

According to About.com: “each side of the brain controls different types of thinking. Additionally, people are said to prefer one type of thinking over the other. For example, a person who is “left-brained” is often said to be more logical, analytical and objective,while a person who is “right-brained” is said to be more intuitive, thoughtful and subjective.”

I’ve always considered myself a middle of the road type person. I’m not usually too extreme (unless you play me in co-ed softball), and I’m fairly stable (unless you take my pillow). But I always hoped I skewed a little to the right and was a more creative person than analytical. Maybe a little more Janis Joplin than Bill Gates?

Today I saw a blog post from a professor here at LSU about working with her students to understand the left brain tendencies of executive managers versus the right brain tendencies of creatives working on an advertising/marketing project. She then offered a quiz to see what brain-type you were.

My worst fears came true. I’m perfectly symmetrical.

Right Brain/ Left Brain Quiz
The higher of these two numbers below indicates which side of your brain has dominance in your life. Realising your right brain/left brain tendancy will help you interact with and to understand others.
Left Brain Dominance: 9(9)
Right Brain Dominance: 9(9)
Right Brain/ Left Brain Quiz

I am no more dominant in my spreadsheet skills than my clarinet playing skills. My blog writing is equal to my poetry. My fashion choices are no more superior than my stapler choices. I love a good ROI report just as much as a good Degas. Devastation.

BUT! What I think I can glean from this is: I can be both. I can be your business-type and speak the language of the executives, but I can also get in the nitty gritty with the creatives. This could prove useful in the world of marketing….right? (subliminally HIRE ME!) And I’ll just have to live with being symmetrical, even in my brain.

For those of you interested, here’s the link to the quiz: http://www.intelliscript.net/test_area/questionnaire/questionnaire.cgi

Let me know what you turn out to be!

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

One thought on “A Little To The Middle

  1. Mine was Left – 8, Right – 11. Probably because I have turned into the absent-minded professor! I love that you’re down the middle! You’re so multi-talented!

Leave a Reply

