Planting Tomatoes

5 Comments

This is it. This is the year. No, THE year.

THIS. Is the year of the tomato.

For three years now, I have tried in vain to plant one of my favorite things in the entire world. Homegrown tomatoes. I was raised with slices of tomatoes served with every meal in the summer, and there is no comparison to how these suckers taste to the plastic tomatoes served in the grocery store. I have no idea why I have such trouble growing things. I come from a food-growing family. I lived on homegrown corn, tomatoes, black eyed peas, mustard greens and blackberries for years. But for some reason, I have the ability to kill a cactus. Don’t ask.

Oh, but this year. I will not fail. I experimented last year and was successful with about 3 ripe banana peppers, but that’s it.

I’ve also been successful with Thyme and Rosemary (after several failed attempts as well). But this year, I want a freakin salad station in my yard.

Here’s what I’m thinking:
– banana peppers again
– cucumbers (maybe??)
– TOMATOES
– parsley
– cilantro

I could eat that combination with some olive oil and vinegar, salt and pepper every meal for days. I have the pots. I will get the soil. My neighbors can deal with my annoyingly moving the pots around each day to get as much sunshine as possible. And I hope that this year I can be “that” girl who shares her bounty with her fellow man. And eats her weight in tomatoes.

Any tips or tricks for planting these types of veggies in pots? I’ve found a few helpful articles here and here. But what else should I know?

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

5 thoughts on “Planting Tomatoes

  1. Give these guy’s a look. See if they have any ideas you haven seen before.
    http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/publications/guides/E-545_vegetable_gardening_containers.pdf
    Happy gardening

  2. Call Daddy. And Johnathan. 🙂

  3. Pingback: A New Start « tuliptea

Leave a Reply

