There’s a Hole In My Media Bucket

Leave a comment

I’m a traditionalist at heart. I love the process, strategy and experience of print advertising, TV and even radio. But I’m no sucker either. I know the cataclysmic shift to all things digital in the marketing world is better, more targeted, more efficient and more tailored to each consumer’s needs.

A recent article by Marc Brownstein in AdAge addressed just that dilemma. How to sustain traditional forms of marketing, while also taking advantage of the increasing and ever-growing digital world. He advocates for a better mix, rather than an only digital approach. Take for example:

“All I have to do is look around me to see people’s media-consuming habits. My wife and kids watch TV every night — often with a mobile or tablet device on their laps. My employees, their families and my friends consume media in similar ways. I’ve spoken to many others in various age categories about their routines and hear similar answers. My study may not be highly scientific, but it does confirm that people of all ages and income brackets still watch, read and listen to a variety of media.” — Marc Brownstein

Mix it up people. This is what excites me most about marketing. So many tools at your disposal and deciding which bucket different amounts of money are invested in is like a puzzle. Finding the right mix can lead to a more strategic and balanced campaign, and if you ever have a leaky bucket, there’s always opportunities to plug it with something else that is better, more strategic and even more measurable.

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

Leave a Reply

