Falling Into New

Leave a comment

The little Fall weather that Louisiana gets is here for a day, and then quickly falls away. This tree, full and beautiful of red and orange leaves yesterday, is now bare with sticky, sharp limbs awaiting winter. But as the seasons change, it reminds us there are limits to everything.

Jewel (the musician) once sang “Everything is temporary if you give it enough time.” How true this is. In weather. In Life. In everything. So to be thankful in the moment is critical.

I’m thankful for the mildness in our seasons.

I’m thankful for the peacefulness of our surroundings and for the joyfulness in this holiday season.

I’m thankful for the humility of marriage.

I’m thankful for the stress of graduate school because that means I’m being challenged.

I’m thankful for Taco Bell and chocolate milk. Consumed separately, of course.

I’m thankful for the hugs Sadie gives me when I come home.

I’m thankful for girlfriends who I can share joy and pain with.

I’m thankful for coffee.

But most of all, I’m thankful for grace. And the freedom to be thankful.

Author: soroussell

Just a small town girl. Reader. Writer. Lover of music. Marketer. Strategist. Brand lover. Saved by grace. Wife. Sister. Daughter. Friend. Undeniable.

Leave a Reply

